Motorized Bicycle Laws in Florida

Motorized Bicycles in Florida

Generic Court GavelThere are many benefits to be had by using a motorized bicycle as your primary (or secondary) method of transportation. With rising gas prices, environmental concerns and a suffering economy, it’s no wonder more and more people are choosing them over other options.

Electric Bicycles

There are federal laws in place for e-bikes, and Florida has the same requirements.

For a vehicle to be considered an e-bike, it must have a maximum speed of 20 MPH on level ground, and the motor must be 750 watts or less.


Excluding motorcycles and e-bikes, there are two other categories for motor-driven cycles in Florida – mopeds and motorized scooters. It’s important to pay close attention to which category your vehicle falls into, since there are different laws and requirements for each. Along those same lines, if your motor-driven cycle is too powerful to fit into either of the following classifications, then it is likely classified as a motorcycle, which also has it’s own laws and requirements, including different licensing and registration laws.

In Florida, in order for a vehicle to be considered a moped it must:

  • Have a seat
  • Have pedals for assisting in propulsion
  • Have 3 or less wheels
  • Have a motor with 2 brake hp or less, and 50 cc or less displacement size
  • Be unable to go more than 30 mph on level ground
  • Have an automatic transmission

Moped Requirements

In Florida, you must have a valid Class E driver’s license and be at least 16 years old to drive a moped on public roads. Additionally, you must register your moped and renew the registration every year. You need to attach your motorcycle license plates, and will be issued a special license plate if you are under 21 years old. You will have to pay a registration fee of $5, and you can register at any local tax collection office.

Once you are license and registered, you will need to keep in mind a few additional laws regarding moped use, such as the following:

  • You cannot ride a moped in standard bicycle or sidewalks.
  • If you are under 16 years old or younger, you must always wear a helmet while riding.

You do not need to carry insurance in order to register your moped in Florida.

Motorized Scooters in Florida

In Florida, in order for a vehicle to be considered a motorized scooter it must:

  • Not have a seat designed to be used while riding
  • Have 3 wheels or less
  • Be unable to go more than 30 mph on level ground

In summary, the main difference between what classifies a vehicle as a scooter rather than a moped is that a scooter does not have a seat.

Similar to mopeds, you must have a valid Class E driver’s license and be at least 16 years old to drive a scooter on public roads, and you are not required to carry insurance. However, unlike mopeds, you do not need to register or title a motorized scooter. Still, you aren’t allowed to drive them on sidewalks.

If your motorized cycle does not meet any of the above classifications, then it is most likely classified as a motorcycle, and must obey all of the motorcycle laws and requirements.

Want a Motorized Bicycle?

We have a great selection of motorized bicycles for sale! While we recommend getting an e-bike, we also have motorized bicycle kits for sale and bicycle accessories for sale. All of our listings are highly reviewed, as you will see for yourself!