Motorized Bicycles in Oklahoma
There are many benefits to be had by using a motorized bicycle as your primary (or secondary) method of transportation. With rising gas prices, environmental concerns and a suffering economy, it’s no wonder more and more people are choosing them over other options.
Like most states, the state of Oklahoma has different rules and regulations for mopeds and scooters. It’s important to know the regulations for your bike so that you can legally drive on public roads.
Mopeds (Motorized Bicycles)
In Oklahoma, a moped is a motorized bicycle with the following characteristics:
- It has both pedals and a motor that can propel the vehicle.
- It has an automatic transmission.
- The helper motor is no bigger than 50 CC.
- It cannot go more than 30 mph on level ground.
Additionally, Oklahoma has a separate definition for an “electric-assisted bicycle”. In order to be considered an electric-assisted bicycle, your bike must meet the following requirements:
- It has both pedals and a motor.
- The helper motor is no bigger than 1,000 watts.
- It cannot propel itself more than 20 mph on level ground.
Moped Licensing, Titling and Registration
Although mopeds are not considered to be motorcycles, they must still be registered, tagged and titled in Oklahoma.
It’s important to note that you must apply for your title within 30 days of owning your moped. You will have to apply for your title through the MVD (Motor Vehicle Division), or at any of the tag agencies in the state of Oklahoma, and pay a titling fee of $11.
You’ll also need a Class A, B, C or D driver’s license.
Moped Driving Laws
In addition to the licensing, titling and registration requirements, you should obey the following regulations while driving a moped:
- You must wear an appropriate helmet at all times if you are under 18 years old.
- If you are at least 16 years old, you may carry a passenger only if your vehicle is factory-designed to carry one (such as a double seat or side car attachment.)
- You cannot hold or attach yourself to another vehicle for the purpose of being propelled.
- You cannot pass another vehicle between lanes of traffic.
- You cannot drive on highways.
Additionally, you must abide by all of the standard Oklahoma traffic laws.
In order for a scooter to be considered a motor scooter (rather than a motorcycle), it must meet the following criteria:
- It must have 2 or 3 wheels.
- It must have handlebars and a foot support or seat that is designed to be used while riding.
- It must have a motor that is no bigger than 35 CC (if gas powered), or 1,000 watts (if electrical.)
- It must not be able to propel itself more than 25 mph on level ground.
If your scooter exceeds the above requirements, then it is classified as a motorcycle, and you must follow all of the standard motorcycle laws and regulations.
Want a Motorized Bicycle?
We have a great selection of motorized bicycles for sale! While we recommend getting an e-bike, we also have motorized bicycle kits for sale and bicycle accessories for sale. All of our listings are highly reviewed, as you will see for yourself!