Motorized Bicycle Laws in New Jersey

Motorized Bicycles in New Jersey

Generic Court GavelThere are many benefits to be had by using a motorized bicycle as your primary (or secondary) method of transportation. With rising gas prices, environmental concerns and a suffering economy, it’s no wonder more and more people are choosing them over other options.

New Jersey has different classifications of motorbikes, and each classification has different laws and requirements. It is important to know which classification your bike is in.

Motorized Bicycles

In the State of New Jersey, a motorized bicycle or moped is defined as a bicycle that also has the following characteristics:

  • Has a motor that is less than 50 ccs (if powered by gas), and produces 1.5 brake horsepower or less.
  • Can’t propel itself faster than 25 mph on level ground.

It’s important to note that motor driven tricycles are not legal to operate on public roadways.

Licensing and Registration

To drive a moped on public roads in New Jersey, you need to possess a valid driver’s license, registration and insurance; you can be fined up to $50 if caught driving without them.

You will need to register your moped at a local MVC (Motor Vehicle Commission) Agency. When registering, you will need to bring:

  • A certificate of origin, or the current title and registration papers.
  • A Bill of Sale.
  • Proof of insurance.

Once registered, there is another list of regulations that is important to know before you ride.

Additional Regulations

Mopeds and their riders must have the following safety equipment:

  • Appropriate safety helmets.
  • A horn (or bell) that can be heard from a distance of 100 feet or more.
  • Headlights and taillights that can be seen from at least 500 feet away.

Additionally, you must abide by the following regulations:

  • You must wear appropriate helmets at all times.
  • Eye goggles or visors are recommended, but not required.
  • You must drive as far to the right side of the road as practical, aside from when you are making a left turn.
  • Mopeds can only be driven in a single file line (no driving side-by-side.)
  • You cannot attach yourself to a vehicle while riding.
  • You can’t ride on sidewalks, on interstate highways, railroads or anywhere that has a speed limit more than 50 mph.

Scooters

As long as a scooter is street legal, it must be titled and registered. Many of the regulations for motor scooters are the same as they are for motorcycles, so it must also be tagged and titled. Scooters also have a list of safety requirements that they must meet, and they must pass an emissions test.

When registering a scooter, you will need to bring all of the safe items as you do when registering a moped (a certificate of origin or current title and registration papers, a bill of sale, and proof of insurance.)

Want a Motorized Bicycle?

We have a great selection of motorized bicycles for sale! While we recommend getting an e-bike, we also have motorized bicycle kits for sale and bicycle accessories for sale. All of our listings are highly reviewed, as you will see for yourself!

One thought on “Motorized Bicycle Laws in New Jersey

  1. can i get a mopehead license in nj if my drivers license is susppended?

Comments are closed.