Motorized Bicycle Laws in Georgia

Motorized Bicycles in Georgia

Generic Court GavelThere are many benefits to be had by using a motorized bicycle as your primary (or secondary) method of transportation. With rising gas prices, environmental concerns and a suffering economy, it’s no wonder more and more people are choosing them over other options.

Electric Bicycles

There are federal laws for e-bikes, but Georgia also has their own laws that are a little more lenient.

E-bikes are classified as bikes that have a motor that is 1,000 W or smaller, and have a top speed of 20 MPH.

You do not need a driver’s license to drive an electric bicycle in Georgia, but you will have to wear a helmet if you are under 16 years old.

Mopeds

In Georgia, a moped is defined as a bike that:

  • Has motor that is no bigger than 50 cc.
  • Can not go faster than 30 mph on level ground.
  • Has an automatic transmission

If your motor-driven bike does not meet the above requirements, then it is most likely classified as a motorcycle, which has different regulations and requirements.

You need to be at least 15 years old in order to drive a moped, and have a valid Georgia drivers license. You can only drive your moped on a public road that has a speed limit of 35 mph or less, and you must always wear a helmet.

Unlike motorcycles and motorized scooters, mopeds do not need to be titled or registered.

Motorized Scooters

In Georgia, scooters have all of the same laws and regulations as motorcycles.

In order for a vehicle to be classified as a scooter, it must:

  • Have a saddle for the rider
  • Have 3 or less wheels

Scooters that have an engine that is more than 50 cc displacement, 2-brake hp, and can go more than 30 mph on level ground must have a title a registration.

You will need to complete Form T-228 (Affidavit of Fact for Motorcycle or Motor Scooters), and bring it to a local Tax Commissioner’s office. You will need to provide a certificate of origin, manufacturer’s certificate, or current title to prove that you own the vehicle. You’ll also need a Certification of Inspection (Form T-22B) to be filled out and have your vehicle inspected.

Lastly, you will need to buy a motorcycle tag, which costs $20 plus tax.

Want a Motorized Bicycle?

We have a great selection of motorized bicycles for sale! While we recommend getting an e-bike, we also have motorized bicycle kits for sale and bicycle accessories for sale. All of our listings are highly reviewed, as you will see for yourself!

4 thoughts on “Motorized Bicycle Laws in Georgia

  1. Decatur Ga.seems to have their own laws for motorized bicycles. They say 49cc engine is 2hp and can go faster than 30mph and you are required to have license and insurance . I disagree ,49cc is .95hp. And is totally legal in the state of Ga.

  2. I think Terry saw the article posted on the internet from the Herald-Review and thought it was Decatur, GA however if you read the entire article the county is Macon is not DeKalb and the article also quotes an IL law not a GA law.

  3. You have expressed false education.
    Georgia, and other states, explain that a motorcycle is +51cc. You explain that a 50cc below motorized bicycle, with manual, is a motorcycle. It’s not a motorcycle because it is not at or above 51cc.
    Do you understand?

  4. Do you have to have license for a 50cc scooter in the state of Georgia??

Comments are closed.